Poppy

AVAILABLE - Poppy

Name(s): Poppy
Age: 12 years old
Size (weight): 12 lbs.
Coat & colour: Wirehair blonde
Temperament: Independent, calm, likes her space from people and dogs, will seek affection on her own terms when she’s comfortable doing so.
Good with Dogs: With some, yes. Better with small dogs and male dogs; needs time to warm up and for them to be respectful of her space.
Good with Cats: Unsure; she has met two very dog-savvy cats once and did not react negatively.
Good with Kids: No
Needs another Dog: No, but does enjoy small male dogs that are friendly and respectful of her.
Needs to be an only Dog: No, but does enjoy small male dogs that are friendly and respectful of her.
Housetraining: Yes
Crate Trained: Yes
Suitable for an Apartment: Possibly, however Poppy cannot do stairs, and tight spaces such as an elevator would be a challenge if other people or dogs came into the elevator at the same time. But she is quiet for the most part at home, so a townhome would likely be fine.
Origin: Transfer from another rescue organization
Adoption Fee: $250

And now a few words from me:

Hi everyone, my name is Poppy. I’m a senior girl with some baggage and need both time and space to trust new people and become comfortable. I am crate trained and love my ‘nest’, but I also like to wriggle around on lavish dog beds and carpets for a good back scratch. I am fully housetrained and will bark in my crate or pace at the door when I need to go out. I live with a few canine friends and the big guys intimidate me quite a bit. My best friend is a small male who is about my size… I could hang out with him all day! My favourite activity is going for walks. In the warmer months a good 30-minute walk twice daily was the best. When it’s cold I don’t enjoy being outside for quite that long. I’m slowly learning about toys, fun things I never knew existed. I travel well in the car in a carrier and enjoy exploring new destinations. The most important thing to keep in mind is that I NEED time, patience and space before being forced to interact with strange dogs and people because this makes me feel really uncomfortable and sometimes I will express my feelings with a snap. So please give me time to trust. All I want is a “chill” retirement home with limited excitement so that I can feel happy and safe.

And now a few words from my foster family:

Miss Poppy is a very independent 12-year old gal with some sass who knows what she wants. She’s a youthful girl who defies her age, although she has had a few episodes with her back where she needed some TLC and rest. Accordingly a home without stairs (or minimal stairs) would be ideal. Poppy is generally quiet in her crate and will only bark if she needs to go to the bathroom, or if she is bored and wants to do something interesting. She is weary of people, kids and large dogs and needs time and patience to adjust to those things. Small dogs seem to be more her cup of tea. Poppy also needs special care when being handled as she doesn’t always like to be picked up, dressed in her coat, or groomed. We are working on all of these things, but an experienced person who has dealt with a potential biter is an absolute must. Her favourite thing is to go for walks, and whether short or long, she’s an enthusiastic participant! She is learning about toys and has one favourite destuffed toy she will play with briefly. She loves her meals and is taking a few supplements to keep her senior joints in tip-top shape! If you’re looking for a companion who is independent and just wants to hang out, she might be the gal for you!