Chrissy - Adoption Pending!

Name(s): Chrissy (Christina)
Age: 7 years (July 12, 2007)
Size: 16lbs
Coat: Short hair, brindle
Temperament: Sweet, loves to play with toys and squeakies
Good with Dogs: Yes
Good with Cats: Learning to leave them alone but still wants to chase them.
Good with Kids: Yes
Special Needs: Skin condition that is likely allergies. On medication to see if we can control it.
House trained: Yes
Suitable for an Apartment: Used to live in an apartment
Origin: Owner surrender
Adoption Fee: $300

I’m Chrissy and I’m looking forward to meeting you. Don’t let me frosty face foul you, I am 7 years young! Plus, I’m a unique and beautiful brindle baby – you don’t see my type all that often!
If you mention a walk or car ride and get a leash out, I get excited. I have good car manners and I mostly sleep while you are driving. I need to learn to walk better on a leash, my excitement just gets the best of me! My feet are pretty tender so I prefer to walk on grass or smooth surfaces. I don’t mind being crated especially because foster mom feeds me in my crate. However, I bark when I hear her coming home, I’m so excited to see her. At night, I sleep on my bed on the floor of your room. Foster mom let me on the big bed one morning and I just curled up in one of the donut beds and went back to sleep.

I love to give kisses and my tail is always wagging. I met some neat people at the dog park that gave me pats and ear rubs and I gave them kisses. I wasn’t too sure about their big dogs but after I realized they weren’t going to hurt me, I was okay.

I’m pretty independent and don’t ask to be picked up. I haven’t cuddled with the resident dachshund although we did share a crate for a little while one day. If you pick me up, I’ll cuddle with you and even give you kisses. If you are busy, I’ll just go sleep in my crate or on a dog bed. My favourite bed is a big pillow one.

I’m mostly house trained. Sometimes, I’ll wake foster mom up to go outside overnight but occasionally she doesn’t hear me and I’ve had an accident in the house. I do best on a schedule.

I love squeaky toys and pulling the stuffing out of other toys. I was so excited one day that I got into a bit of a scrape with the resident dachshund when someone squeaked a squeaky toy but I’ve learned I don’t need to fight to get a toy. I’ve also shown some interest in a ball but I just follow it and I don’t pick it.

I have a skin condition that they think is allergies so I’ve started some medication to see if it will help. My skin was dry and flaky in places but oily in others. Foster mom tried a new shampoo and a grain free diet on me and they seem to have helped. I like to roll in the grass. I am now at my ideal weight. I’m 11 pounds under my maximum weight so I feel so much better and I can even run. I’ll stay with you in the kitchen hoping something will drop. I’ve started to play crazy games with foster mom. If she claps her hands, I’ll run around in a circle and come back for more.

I’m on my best behavior when I’ve been properly exercised and with a confident human leader. I also need a home with older respectful children. I could live in a home with or without another dog although I would prefer one with another dog. I’ve started to play with the resident dogs. You can also have a cat since I am learning to leave the resident cats alone. I still want to chase them, it is so much fun to see them run. However, I’ve learned to stop and come back when foster mom tells me to.